Actor Kim Soo Hyun won the Best Actor Award in 48th Paeksang Arts Awards through the hit drama series “The Moon that Embraces the Sun“. When speaking his acceptance speech, he was on the verge of tears, thanking the teacher to whom he is greatly indebted Bae Yong Joon. But some netizens questioned that he did not qualify, and merely ascended the throne of Best Actor Award by virtue of popularity.

48th Baeksang Art Awards which is known as South Korean version of Golden Globe Awards handed out various awards in TV and movie categories on April 26th, 2012. The popular historical drama “The Moon that Embraces the Sun” which was nominated to 11 awards and was known as the clear favorite, ultimately won the Best TV Drama Award and Best Actor Award. Kim Soo Hyun who is just 24 years old won over Cha Seung Won of “The Greatest Love”, Park Si Hoo of “The Princess’ Man”, Han Suk Hyu of “Deep Rooted Tree” and other senior actors through the drama to become the Best Actor, becoming the youngest Baeksang’s Best Drama Actor in recent years.

Won the Newcomer Award last year

Kim Soo Hyun was on the verge of tears during the speech of acceptance, and did not forget to thank the boss of management agency Bae Yong Joon, fans and family members, and also humbly said that he is not deserved the award. The lead actress of “The Greatest Love” Kong Hyo Jin defeated Kim Sun Ah, Moon Chae Won and others to win the Best Actress Award, she revealed that her boyfriend Ryoo Seung Bum cheered her through text message. The historical drama “Deep Rooted Tree” starring Shin Se Kyung won the Best Screenplay and Daesang Award of TV category, while Joo Won and UEE of “Ojak Brothers” won the Best New Actor and Actress Award.

However, netizens called in question the qualification of Kim Soo Hyun to win the Best Actor Award, saying that he could won the Best Actor Award is because of popularity and not acting skill, because his acting career has just begun, acting experience is not a lot, he has just won several Newcomer Awards through 2011 drama series “Dream High”, but in 2012, he has leapfrogged to challenge Best Actor Award. Even the winner of Best Actor Award in 2011’s Baeksang Arts Award, Jeong Bo Seok, felt surprise on the young Kim Soo Hyun winning the Best Actor Award.

Jang Geun Suk rushed to accept the award

For the motion picture category, Lee Byung-Hun who won the highest honored Daesang Award in 47th Baeksang Arts Award through the movie “I Saw the Devil” specially appeared on the scene to present the awards to Best Actor Ahn Sung Ki and Best Actress Uhm Jung Hwa. Uhm Jung Hwa who won the Best Actress Award from Baeksang again after 9 years shed tears when expressing gratitude to younger brother Uhm Tae Woong who is also an actor and family members. Jang Geun Suk who did not appear in red carpet because of rushing for filming of “Love Rain” made it in time to go on stage to receive the Most Popular Actor Award for movie category. miss A member Suzy won the Best New Actress Award through movie “Architecture 101”.

The actor of “The Greatest Love”, Cha Seung Won, who didn’t win the Best Actor Award didn’t attend the awards ceremony, but participated in a brand activity together with Bae Yong Joon and Kim Hyun Joong. No wonder netizens pointed out that only actors who attend the awards ceremony will win the awards.